Lord’s Cricket Ground, generally known as Lord’s, is the cricket venue in St John’s Wood, London. The Headquarters of Britain’s chief summer sport is named after its founder, Thomas Lord and it is owned by Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC). Lord’s today is not on its original site, being the third of three grounds that Lord established between 1787 and 1814.
Lord’s is widely referred to as the “Home of Cricket”, and it houses the world’s oldest sporting museum. Apart from ‘the Ashes’ (burned wood in an urn) which is the object of ferocious competition between the English and Australian national teams, the collection also sports -amongst others- a stuffed sparrow, killed by a cricket ball.
This special tour of Lord’s will give us the opportunity to go behind the scenes and explore some of the most famous sights in sport. Admire legends past and present on the famous Honours Boards, sit in their seats in the Dressing Rooms, follow in the footsteps of heroes through the Long Room and see the famous Ashes Urn.
Also to be enjoyed will be the outstanding architectural features of the Grandstand and the Mound Stand and the futuristic J.P.Morgan Media Centre, which was built in combination with Centraalstaal from The Netherlands and acclaimed in 2001 as one of the “The Fifty Best Buildings” in Britain.